html templates

The Heller Quartet

Music at Aden is part of Friends of Aden

The Heller Quartet was formed in 1976 when four musicians at the Royal College of Music in London who won several major prizes for individual performance and quartet playing were invited by the Yehudi Menuhin Foundation to become the quartet-in-residence in Bermuda. They took their name after winning the Gerard Heller Quartet Competition. After several years, they disbanded and left Bermuda. Jean Fletcher, who won the Tagore Gold Medal in her final year at the RCM, was the first violinist. In 2007 she brought together a new set of players to form the new quartet, and has expanded it at times to the Heller Ensemble, to include piano, clarinet and other instruments so that a wider repertoire of works can be presented at venues throughout Scotland.

Programme to include:
Beethoven: String Quartet in C minor, Op.18, no.4
Borodin: String Quartet no.2 in D major

"Beethoven was starting out as a young composer but the op.18 set of quartets show innovation and wit, and bear the stamp of his ambition. Borodin was already an acclaimed master and, although he only wrote two string quartets, we can hear the gorgeous romantic sounds he conjures, particularly in the famous Nocturne."  (Gareth John)

more information